Commission Alternatives - Fees and Requirements

Charge fee in addition to or in lieu of collecting commissions?
Specific Disclosures or written agreements required to charge fees to a client?
Admin fees for insurance placement?
Charges for services unrelated to the placement of insurance?
Additional licensing required?
Notwithstanding the provisions of s. 626.572, all commissions received by an insurance agent from an insurer in connection with the issuance of a policy, when a separate fee or other consideration has been paid to the insurance agent by an insured, shall be rebated to the insured or other party being charged within 30 days after receipt of such commission by the insurance agent. s.626.593
A licensed insurance agent may receive fees or commissions or anything else of value, with regards to counseling, advising, and recommending insurance, unless such compensation is based upon a written contract signed by the party to be charged and specifying or clearly defining the amount or extent of such compensation and informing the party to be charged that any commission received from an insurer will be rebated to the party in accordance with subsection (3). In addition, all compensation to be paid to the insurance agent must be disclosed in the contract.

Stop-Loss Information

Employer Size
Specific Stop Loss Restrictions
Aggregate Stop Loss Restrictions
Guaranteed Issue of Stop-Loss Policies
Other notes
Florida Statutes Chapter 627 Section 66997
All employers
Stop-loss policy with specific deductible limit below $20,000 will be considered a health insurance policy in Florida, and therefore subject to state regulation.
Aggregate stop-loss policies below the following limits will result in the policy being considered health insurance:
Employers with 50 or fewer covered employees, aggregate coverage attachment points of less than $4,000 per person, or 120% of expected claims or $20,000, whichever is greater.
For employers with more than 50 covered employees, aggregate coverage attachment points of lower than 110% of expected claims


Malpractice Damage Cap

Damage Cap Amount

State Code

Cap on non-economic damages found unconstitutional (was $500,000 or $1,000,000 for catastrophic injuries enacted in 2003, overturned in North Broward Hospital District v Kalitan, 2017). No cap on economic damages.